Top 11 Things We NEED at Kent State Right Now!

Top 11 Things Kent State Needs Right Now!

Oh, Kent State! It’s time to get hip to a few things. Your student body has a few simple requests:



It snows here — a lot. We’re tired of walking through Siberia to get to class on time! Winter lasts about 5 months in Kent, and in those 5 months we see about half of the student population bite it on some random sidewalk on the way to the Student Center. If we just get some heated sidewalks to melt away all of the ice and snow, life would be muuuuuuccchhh better in the short, dark days of winter.


burritoHaving Chipotle close to campus is nice and all, but we’re still paying out of pocket for the food. Lots us of have leftover meal plan money every semester — we can’t think of a better way to spend it than on a burrito bowl with white rice, extra chicken, cheese and guac! Can’t we make a deal with them?



There have been rumors and there have been petitions. It’s going happen one day! Sooner rather than later, please!



Yeah, you read that right — we said zip lines! If you’re not going to do #1 on the list, while continuing to spread classes out from Dix Stadium all the way to Rockwell Hall, we’re going to need some zip lines! Imagine it — fast, fun and easy transport from Nixson to the KSC to get lunch! (Obviously, they’d be called “FLASH lines” because we don’t associate with anything “zip”-themed here!)



Oh, wait — this is actually happening! Thanks to our amazing, generous Kent State donors, we have a bunch of new buildings poppin’ up all over the place. It’s pretty awesome what philanthropy can do for a university, isn’t it? (Go here to check out all the upcoming building plans!)



How nice would it be to have a healthy, fresh, real-fruit smoothie available on campus? We love the one in the Rec – now please multiply!


cafeWe already have our own food truck, so what about a coffee cart? Maybe one that travels around and makes it easy to get our much-needed caffeine kick early in the morning? Seeing that cart turn the corner when we’re running late might just save a life! You can even make it another Jazzman’s. Whatever you call it, let’s just get one already!


laundryNow, we know not everything can be free, but can’t we have this one little thing? Personally, my roommate hasn’t done laundry in three months and I almost don’t blame him. Almost.

  1. GUM

gumWe are mature adults, KSU, now why can’t we buy gum here?



 How do we not have this already? We have the pets, let’s make the zoo! This could equal some serious stress relief during finals. President Warren, please add this to your strategic plan!



Check! Looks like we have that already, Kent State! It’s called FLASHanthropy! Check out the rest of our site and if you like what you’re seeing and want to be a part of it, email us at It’s time we all Pay It Flash Forward!


10 Real Reasons 2015 is the Greatest Year Ever!

10 Real Reasons 2015 is the Greatest Year Ever!

  1. We are Living Longer! Yes, this is obvious news to us. However, since 2009 infant mortality rates have fallen drastically. Today 7,256 fewer infants die every day! Also, the average age of death in Switzerland went from 78 to 83 years since 1990.livinglonger
  2. More People Across the World Can Read! The global adult literacy rate is projected to reach 86% by 2015 and the youth literacy rate should reach 92%. Overall, literacy is improving, especially among young people. Because literate young people grow up to be literate adults, the future is full of readers.reading
  3. The World is Winning the War on Poverty! In 2000, 33% of the world population was living in poverty. Today, it’s 21%. While that means more than 1 in 5 people live in poverty, it’s still enormous progress — and it means that the world has effectively halved its poverty rate in just 20 years.poverty
  4. We Are Fighting AIDS and Winning! Deaths from AIDS-related causes are going down. Access to treatment is going up. An HIV diagnosis is no longer considered a death sentence. In developed countries, a 20 year old with HIV can expect to live into their 70’s if treated properly.aids
  5. We Care and Accept People More! Look around. We are living in a world that keeps everyone in check in terms of acceptance. Our progress in the United States alone since 2000 has been outstanding in terms of acceptance. Gay marriage, African American President, the list could go on and on. There’s still lots of progress to be made, but we’re on the right track world!hands
  6. Violent Crime Dropping Hard! Violent crime rates are 1/3 of what they were in 1995. Rape rates have dropped 1/6 of what they were 20 years ago. Countries all over the world have experienced this trend as well.crime
  7. Malaria is Losing! Malaria deaths are going down radically. If we keep up this pace of prevention and treatment, by 2015 the rate of malaria mortality will be 56% lower than it was in 2000.Global action to fight malaria is saving 700 lives every day, right now.  malaria
  8. Ethiopia is Getting Better! Ethiopia was once the poster-child (literally) for problems of malnutrition, health, and other issues.Today, Ethiopia proves that seemingly intractable problems can be solved through hard work and community outreach.ethiopia
  9. We are Less Hungry! Fewer people are going hungry around the world. Since 1990, hunger has declined by 132 million people.nothungry
  10. Guinea Worm, See Ya Later! For only the second time in human history, we are on the verge of eradicating a human disease from the face of the Earth.guineaworm

 Bonus: FLASHanthropy is getting bigger, better and has more influence on campus than any other time in the history of the group! Let’s use our influence positively and passionately. Always remember to Pay It Flash Forward!